Vegetarian Cooking Classes

Wawa Family Health Team Vegetarian Cooking Classes

The Wawa Family Health Team offered it’s second set of vegetarian cooking classes this Fall. Lead by Dr. Julie Weinstein and Rebecca Coughlin, Registered Dietitian, the classes were well attended and the participants voiced that the recipes were tasty. The purpose of these classes was to provide participants with the opportunity to try simple, healthy, vegetarian recipes that they could make at home. The Vegetarian Diet can be low in fat, high in fibre, and incorporates lots of vegetables. Adding vegetarian meals to your weekly menu can help you lower your cholesterol, manage your weight, and improve your health.

Links to the recipes from the Fall 2015 and Fall 2016 vegetarian cooking classes have been listed below. Please note that we may have made changes to the original recipe for the purpose of our cooking classes:

Fall 2015
Mexican Quinoa: http://damndelicious.net/2014/04/09/one-pan-mexican-quinoa/
Chana Masala (Chickpea Curry): http://www.diabetes.ca/diabetes-and-you/recipes/chana-masala
Barley & Lentil Salad with Kale: http://www.healthstandnutrition.com/barley-lentil-salad/
Spicy Peanut Tofu Stir Fry: http://ourwaytoeat.com/2012/04/04/stir-fried-vegetables-with-tofu-and-udon-noodles-in-a-spicy-peanut-sauce/
Raw Vegan Fruit Tart: http://www.food.com/recipe/raw-vegan-fruit-tart-283853

Fall 2016
Butternut Squash Salad: http://www.saltandlavender.com/roasted-butternut-squash-spinach-salad-goats-cheese/
Lentil “Meatballs”: http://minimalistbaker.com/easy-lentil-meatballs/#_a5y_p=5073411
Simple Pasta Sauce (using no-salt-added canned tomatoes): http://allrecipes.com/recipe/21455/quick-pasta-sauce/
Crispy Tofu: http://abbylangernutrition.com/balanced-lunches-budget-crispy-tofu-bowl/
Sweet Potato & Kale Chili: http://janetandgreta.com/recipe/january-2014-newsletter-sweet-potato-and-black-bean-chili-with-kale/
Pumpkin Oat Balls: http://blog.emeals.com/clean-eating-pumpkin-balls/

More from the WawaFHT